Smith, Warner banned for 1 Year by Cricket Australia

Steven Smith and David Warner, formerly captain and vice-captain of Australia, have been banned for 12 months by Cricket Australia for their roles in the pre-meditated plan to tamper with the ball on the third day of the Cape Town Test against South Africa. Cameron Bancroft, the player to actually tamper with the ball, has been banned for nine months.

Smith and Warner have also been banned from captaining Australia for two years An official announcement of their penalties is expected to be announced soon.

All players will have the right to challenge their verdicts and also the durarion of their penalties via a CA code of behaviour hearing with an independent commissioner, who can also choose whether the hearing is public or private.

Smith is due to depart for Australia today and will speak publicly upon his arrival home in Sydney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.